ChemRxiv
These are preliminary reports that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health-related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information. For more information, please see our FAQs.
1/1
2 files

Understanding Energy Conversion and Loss Mechanisms in Ternary Metal Oxide Photoelectrodes: The Case of Copper Vanadate

preprint
submitted on 19.10.2017 and posted on 20.10.2017 by Chang-Ming Jiang, Gideon Segev, Lucas H. Hess, Guiji Liu, Gregory Zaborski, Francesca M. Toma, Jason K. Cooper, Ian D. Sharp
Essential photoelectrochemical (PEC) functionalities are systematically analyzed on a series of copper vanadate photoanodes with different Cu:V elemental ratios. Homogeneous, highly continuous, and phase-pure thin films of β-Cu2V2O7, γ-Cu3V2O8, Cu11V6O26 and Cu5V2O10 are grown via reactive co-sputtering deposition and then evaluated for their performances in light-driven oxygen evolution reaction (OER). Despite all four compounds have similar 1.8 – 2.0 eV bandgaps, Cu-rich phases are found to exhibit shorted absorption length in addition to higher charge separation efficiencies at the semiconductor/electrolyte junction. In the presence of sacrificial hole acceptor, the superior bulk properties of Cu5V2O10 photoanode translate to the most cathodic (0.67 V vs. RHE) onset potential and a 206 μA/cm2 photocurrent density that is four times higher than β-Cu2V2O7 at 1.23 V. vs. RHE. Nevertheless, the sluggish OER kinetics competes with carrier recombination through Cu-associated surface states, and transient photocurrent spectroscopy quantitatively reveals the deterioration of surface catalytic activity with increasing Cu:V elemental ratio. This comprehensive analysis of PEC characteristics – light absorption, carrier separation, and heterogeneous charge transfer – not only gives insights into functional roles of individual elements in ternary metal oxide photoanodes, but also provides strategies for rational discovery, design, and engineering of new photoelectrode materials for solar fuel production.

Funding

DE-SC0004993

History

Topic

  • Thin Films
  • Catalysts

Email Address of Submitting Author

CMJiang@lbl.gov

Email Address(es) for Other Author(s)

gideon@lbl.gov lhhess@lbl.gov guijiliu@lbl.gov gzaborski@lbl.gov fmtoma@lbl.gov jkcooper@lbl.gov sharp@wsi.tum.de

Institution

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Country

United States

ORCID For Submitting Author

0000-0001-8327-5760

Declaration of Conflict of Interest

The authors declare no competing financial interest.

Exports

Logo branding

Exports