ChemRxiv
These are preliminary reports that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health-related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information. For more information, please see our FAQs.
1/1
2 files
0/0

Metal-Organic Framework Glasses with Permanent Accessible Porosity

preprint
submitted on 29.06.2018 and posted on 29.06.2018 by Chao Zhou, Louis Longley, Andraz Krajnc, Glen J. Smales, Ang Qiao, Ilknur Erucar, Cara M. Doherty, Aaron W. Thornton, Anita J. Hill, Christopher W. Ashling, Omid T. Qazvini, Seok June Lee, Philip A. Chater, Nicholas J. Terrill, Andrew J. Smith, Yuanzheng Yue, Gregor Mali, David A. Keen, Shane G. Telfer, Thomas D. Bennett
To date, only several microporous, and even fewer nanoporous, glasses have been produced, always via post synthesis acid treatment of phase separated dense materials, e.g. Vycor glass. In comparison, high internal surface areas are readily achieved in crystalline materials, such as metal-organic frameworks (MOFs). It has recently been discovered that a new family of melt quenched glasses can be produced from MOFs, though they have thus far have lacked the accessible and intrinsic porosity of their crystalline precursors. Here, we report the first glasses that are permanently, and reversibly porous toward incoming gases, without post synthetic treatment. We characterized the structure of these glasses using a range of experimental techniques, and demonstrate pores in the 4-8 angstrom range. The discovery of MOF-glasses with permanent accessible porosity reveals a new category of porous glass materials, that are potentially elevated beyond conventional inorganic and organic porous glasses, by their diversity and tunability.

History

Email Address of Submitting Author

tdb35@cam.ac.uk

Email Address(es) for Other Author(s)

czh@bio.aau.dk ll435@cam.ac.uk andraz.krajnc@ki.si glen.smales.09@ucl.ac.uk qiaoang@whut.edu.cn ilknur.erucar@ozyegin.edu.tr cara.doherty@csiro.au Aaron.Thornton@csiro.au anita.Hill@csiro.au cwa25@cam.ac.uk O.Taheri@massey.ac.nz imsubo@gmail.com philip.chater@diamond.ac.uk nick.terrill@diamond.ac.uk andrew.smith@diamond.ac.uk yy@bio.aau.dk gregor.mali@ki.si david.keen@stfc.ac.uk S.Telfer@massey.ac.nz

Institution

University of Cambridge

Country

United Kingdom

ORCID For Submitting Author

0000-0003-3717-3119

Declaration of Conflict of Interest

No conflict of interest

Version Notes

Version 1.0

Exports

Read the published paper

in Nature Communications

Logo branding

Exports