ChemRxiv
These are preliminary reports that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health-related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information. For more information, please see our FAQs.
1/1
0/0

A Blueprint for the Synthesis and Characterisation of Thin Graphene Oxide with Controlled Lateral Dimensions for Biomedicine

preprint
revised on 06.03.2018 and posted on 06.03.2018 by Artur Rodrigues, Leon Newman, Neus Lozano, Sourav Prasanna Mukherjee, Bengt Fadeel, Cyrill Bussy, Kostas Kostarelos
We report the reproducible production of graphene oxide flakes of controlled lateral dimensions under endotoxin free conditions for biomedical and hazard assessment investigations. In addition, we report the thorough characterisation of those materials, using optical, atomic force, electron microcopies; fluorescence, UV/Vis and Raman spectroscopies; Zeta potential, FTIR, TGA, and XPS. We identified that a combination of microscopic techniques are needed to fully assess the lateral dimensions of GO flakes.

Funding

696656 graphene flagship project

History

Email Address of Submitting Author

cyrill.bussy@manchester.ac.uk

Email Address(es) for Other Author(s)

kostas.kostarelos@manchester.ac.uk leon.newman@manchester.ac.uk artur.rodrigues@manchester.ac.uk sourav.mukherjee@ki.se bengt.fadeel@ki.se

Institution

The University of Manchester

Country

United Kingdom

ORCID For Submitting Author

0000-0001-8870-443X

Declaration of Conflict of Interest

No conflict of interest to declare.

Licence

Exports